Happy Birthday my Brothers!

Today is the 231st birthday of the national treasure known as the United States Marine Corps.

Dymphna has a nice tribute.

In addition, the first Marine to earn the Congressional Medal of Honor in the Long War will receive the medal today, posthumously. Story here.

If you do nothing else today, read the Constitution. That’s what we defend.

And think about your family. That’s why we fight.

Semper Fidelis!

2 Responses to Happy Birthday my Brothers!

  1. Dymphna says:

    9/11 has become a very awkward b’day. I think you should re-birthday yourself. In fact, everyone with a 9/11 ought to get a new date: a favorite holiday, a family day, some special historical day that resonates for them…and they could choose a new name, too. Like you could be Smiiten SemperFidelis Eagle.

    Someone else might choose another name…as I have taken Dymphna. She’s kind of become an extension of my character.

  2. Smitten Eagle says:

    Thanks for the idea, but I’m not going to change my birthday because my country was attacked. My birthday is 11 September, and that’s the way it is.

    11 September is a source of strength for me. Every time I fight my birthday comes back a little more.

Leave a Reply

